Learn How to Factory Reset Your Netgear WiFi Router? How to Factory Reset Your Netgear WiFi Router? - Hub spot News
How to Factory Reset Your Netgear WiFi Router?

How to Factory Reset Your Netgear WiFi Router?

Is your WiFi connection dropping frequently? Netgear router not working up to the mark? Tried everything but nothing solved the issue for you? In such a case, opt for the factory reset. A factory reset process rewinds all the configuration settings to their default values, thus making your router new again.

New to factory reset? We have got your back! This write-up will make you familiar with the complete Netgear router factory reset process. Let’s take the plunge.

When do You Need to Reset Your Netgear Router?

There is a need to reset your Netgear WiFi router if you are struggling with one of the following issues:

  • Netgear router not working

  • Blinking LEDs on the router

  • Slow internet connection even after properly setting up the router

  • Connected to Netgear WiFi router but no internet

  • Forgot or lost Netgear router login details

Things to Know Before You Reset Your Router

The factory reset process deletes every setting of your Netgear router that you configured during the setup process, ranging from user ID to the security settings. Therefore, it’s recommended to create a backup of all current settings before you proceed further with the reset process.

Once done with the reset, you can restore the backup. No need to reconfigure your Netgear WiFi router.

Ways to Reset Netgear Router

There are two main ways to reset your Netgear WiFi router to the factory default settings. They are:

  • Via the Web Interface

  • Using the Reset Button

Let’s guide you through both methods one by one.

1. Via the Web Interface

You can use the default web interface of your Netgear WiFi router to restore its default settings. Here’s how:

  • Make sure that the LED lights on your Netgear WiFi router are stable.

  • Launch your preferred web browser.

  • Type www.routerlogin.net in the address bar.

  • Press the Enter key.

  • Insert the username and password into the given fields.

  • Hit Log In.

  • As soon as you have logged in, navigate to the Settings section.

  • Click on the button that says Reset.

  • A confirmation pop-up will come into view.

  • Hit Yes and let your Netgear wireless router reboot properly.

In this manner, you can reset your Netgear WiFi router using the default web interface.

Bonus Tip: You can also use 10.1.10.1 IP to log in to your Netgear wireless router if the default web interface is not working for you.

Walk through the instructions below to reset your Netgear WiFi router using the reset button:

  • Plug your Netgear router into a wall socket and power it on.

  • Press the Reset button on it.

  • Wait until the router reboots.

Note: As the factory reset button is deeply buried, so it’s recommended to use a paper clip or similar object to press the button.

Thus, you can restore all the default factory values on your Netgear wireless router. After resetting your router, you can restore the backup you have created earlier.

Resetting your Netgear router is a better option if you forgot the WiFi password and can’t recover it. However, remember to perform the Netgear router factory reset process under the guidance of technicians as it can wipe out all your current or important settings and there is no way to come back!

error: Content is protected !!